Parent Page
Are you Eligible?
Types of Child Care
Parent Application
Report a Change
Provider Page
Contact Us

Contact us

Beaumont Location
510 Park Street, Suite 215
Beaumont, Texas 77701
Phone: 409-839-8045
Fax: 409-838-4048

Port Arthur Location
4680 FM 365
Port Arthur, Texas 77642
Phone: 409-962-1236


Do I qualify?
Below is a summary of the eligibility requirements for CCCS:

  1. he child is either younger than 13 years of age or is a child with disabilities and is younger than 19 years of age.
  2. The child is a US citizen or legal immigrant
  3. The child resides with one of the following:
    1. A family within the Harden, Jefferson and Orange counties whose income does not exceed 85 percent of the state median income for a family of the same size and whose assets do not exceed $1 million as certified by a family member and with parents who require child care in order to work, including job search, or attend job training or an educational program
    2. An individual standing in loco parentis for the child while the child’s parent or parents are on military deployment and the deployed military parent’s income does not exceed 85 percent of the state median income for a family of the same size
    3. A family that meets the definition of experiencing homelessness (homelessness is defined as meeting the McKinney Vento Act McKinney-Vento Definition – National Center for Homeless Education

FAQ Can I receive assistance if I am searching for employment?
Yes! If you are searching for employment, you may receive up to three months to find employment. At the end of the three months:

  1. You must be employed
  2. Meet the income threshold
  3. Meet the activity requirement of 25 hours per week for a single household and 50 hours for a two parent household.

What if I attend school, am I eligible?
If you attend school, you may be eligible for assistance.

  • Employment/Education/Workforce Training Scholarship – This is for parents who need child care to attend college or a job training program that leads to one of the following: basic literacy, English proficiency, an occupational or professional certification or license, and the acquisition of technical skills, knowledge and abilities specific to an occupation. There is a 60-month limit on receiving a scholarship for child care while attending education. You must be making progress toward completion.
  • Teenage Parent Scholarship – This allows teen parents 18 years or younger, or 19 years of age and attending high school or the equivalent to receive their diploma or certificate. Eligibility is based on the teen and not the parent of the teen.

What are the income guidelines based on family size?

  • The income threshold is based on the gross monthly income (GMI) and the family size. The Texas Workforce Commissions sets the limit for Texas at 85% SMI. The income ranges are updated on October 1st every year. Click here to see the most current guidance:

Once approved, how long can I receive assistance?

  • Your scholarship is approved for 12 months.

What are the reasons my services could end before the 12 months is over?

  • Failure to pay your assigned parent share of cost to your provider
  • Your child being absent (not recording attendance as required is defined as an absence) 40 more or more days within the 12 month eligibility
  • If placed in care for job search, your services will end if you do not meet the activity requirements within the three month timeframe
  • Suspected fraud

If my information changes within the 12 months, do I need to report?
Yes! You are required to report within 14 calendar days of the occurrence, only the following:

  • Changes in family income or family size that would cause the family to exceed the income threshold
  • Changes in work or attendance at a job training or an educational program that are permanent
  • Any change in family residence, primary phone number or e-mail address (if applicable)
NOTE: Failure to report such changes may result in fact-finding for suspected fraud

How much does it cost and who do I pay?

The cost of care is based on your household size, the household income, and how many children are receiving services. You pay the assigned child care program based on their payment policies.

What if I can not pay the cost?

This is a requirement to receive services. If you have an extenuating circumstance and can provide documented evidence of it, then you may request a temporary reduction to help for a short period of time. A couple of examples may include:

  • Car repairs you had to paid
  • Unexpected medical bills that you paid

If I receive services because I attend education, what are the requirements and time limits?

A statewide policy for parents enrolled in an educational program, who is attending the educational program full time and receiving child care assistance while the parent is in the education program, for a cumulative total of 60 months. The limit applies only to parents enrolled full-time in a postsecondary undergraduate education program.
The goal of receiving assistance is employment, therefore you must be making progress in your coursework.

Do I have to be receiving welfare assistance to qualify for services?
No, there are several ways to receive services, however, some may have a waiting period.

I need child care - it is an emergency! What can I do?
Unfortunately, our program is not designed for emergency assistance. We are happy to determine if you are eligible for services, however, if funds are not available, you will need to be placed on a waiting list. If you need emergency services, you may dial 2-1-1.

Will I have to go on a waiting list? 
If funding is unavailable, you will be placed on a waiting list. Once on our waiting list, you will need to update your information every 90 Days. Once the funding becomes available, you will be outreached from the waiting list.

Why was my name deleted from the waiting list?
In order to stay on the waiting list, it is imperative that you call and update your information every 90 Days. Your information will be purged if is not updated in the required amount of time. We recommend that you call at least one to two weeks ahead of the expiration date to ensure your case is updated in a timely manner. It is important to remember to write down the date, time, and the name of the specialist you spoke with for future reference.

The provider I want has openings. Why do I have to be placed on a waiting list?
Our waiting list is for funding, not provider availability. You may want to ask your child care provider if they can offer you a sliding scale fee or scholarship while you wait for CCCS funding to become available.

Which providers do I use once I am on the program?
Parental choice is what drives this program. You have complete control of the placement of your child. You may choose a regulated provider who is monitored by the Texas Health and Human Services Child Care Regulation (HHS CCR), or an eligible relative provider.

What if I am on TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families)?
You need to contact your nearest Workforce Solutions Center and ask about employment and training programs. If eligible, they will refer you to CCA. To locate your neighborhood Workforce Solutions Center, please click here.

I am in care and need to transfer to another provider. What can I do?
You need to research all available options before you request to transfer your child from one provider to another. It is extremely important that your child is in a stable, safe, nurturing environment so he/she can grow and bond with his/her caregiver. Having a consistent caregiver is one of the most crucial things that need to be in place for your child. Prior to granting permission for a transfer to another facility, you will need to help us determine your reason for the transfer:

  1. Is it due to a conflict with the caregiver; did you talk with the Program Director or caregiver about your concerns? Can this be resolved by mediation between the caregiver, you, and CCCS?
  2. Is it due to a health and safety issue and does it need to be reported to the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS)? If this is the case, please contact HHS CCR 409-730-2424 right away.
  3. If you need to transfer, you can request this online by clicking here.

How is my co-payment determined?
Your cost of care is determined by your gross monthly income before taxes, including ALL household income, such as overtime, commission, bonuses, incentive pay, other employment, etc., and the number of children receiving child care subsidy. This fee is payable to the child care program and it is mandatory that it is paid timely.