Parent Page
Are you Eligible?
Types of Child Care
Parent Application
Report a Change
Attendance Card
Attendance Recording
Provider Page
Contact Us

Contact us

Beaumont Location
510 Park Street, Suite 215
Beaumont, Texas 77701
Phone: 409-839-8045
Fax: 409-838-4048

Port Arthur Location
4680 FM 365
Port Arthur, Texas 77642
Phone: 409-962-1236

Texas Rising Star


A Texas Rising Star provider is A CCCS provider who voluntarily meets criteria that exceeds the Texas Department of Family and Protective (DFPS) Child Care Licensing Minimum Standards. The Texas Rising Star criteria looks at the overall operation of the facility and the experiences provided for children while in care.

The criteria includes the following requirements:

  • Compliance with DFPS licensing
  • Qualifications for directors and caregivers in licensed child care centers and registered and licensed child care homes
  • Staff orientation for new employees
  • Staff training for licensed child care centers registered and licensed child care homes
  • Smaller than minimum standard group sizes
  • Written program goals and objectives for curriculum and activities
  • Positive caregiver/child interactions
  • Appropriate indoor and outdoor environments and materials
  • Focus on providing a healthy and safe environment
  • Offer nutritious meals and snacks and practice age appropriate meal time routines
  • Encourage parent involvement

The benefits to being a Texas Rising Star Provider include:

  • Texas Rising Star providers offer a higher quality of care, which benefits children and families and may ultimately promote their program.
  • Child Protective Services (CPS) requires that CPS children be placed only with Texas Rising Star providers.
  • Texas Rising Star providers are eligible for higher reimbursement rates from CCCS.

Providers interested in the Texas Rising Star program should contact Provider Services at 409-839-8045 x 3654 for more information. If you are a CCCS Provider and interested in becoming a Texas Rising Star Provider, click here.

The four levels of certification for Texas Rising Star Providers are:

  • Four-Star: the highest level; provider meets the majority of the criteria and represents the highest quality in the Texas Rising Star program. Certification is issued for three years.
  • Three-Star: provider meets many of the criteria, but sets goals to improve and move to next level. Certification is issued for two years.
  • Two-Star: provider does not meet enough of the criteria to be three-star but has the potential to meet three-star level within one year. Certification is issued for one year and plan is written outlining requirements to improve and move to the next level.
  • Deferred: provider does not meet enough of the criteria to be certified at any level. They are considered to be in the Texas Rising Star program and have one year to reach a level of quality to be certified. A plan is written outlining requirements to improve and become certified.